Tags

, , ,

Dinosaurs on other planets

 

“Alice knew there was no bolt to slide across her past. The past was an open door and the best that could be done was to hurry by on the corridor”

Dinosaurs On Other Planets ~ Danielle McLaughlin 

I nearly always find myself worrying when I speculate over reading a short story collection, whether they are worth investing time over. Not because I don’t like reading short stories, or indeed writing them, but I much prefer reading a short story on off chance. If I happen upon one, or am recommended one etc. However, as always, I don’t know why I worry. I almost always enjoy them; especially when I space the stories out, read them over a week and allow each story to settle in, like dust on the leaves of my aloe vera plant.

Danielle McLaughlin is a talented, quiet writer who is able to construct beautifully pieced together words which resonate into meaning, several minutes after the eye reads the sentence. Each story in this collection sticks to the soul. It’s not impossible to describe what the stories are about, but I’d rather allow you to discover them yourself. Some of the unifying themes in the stories, which I will take the liberty to disclose, are dead animals and insects, isolated lonely women and men, the defeats and defects of life.

It is startling to think this is her debut work, such is the power of her storytelling. I am definitely a fan and will not hesitate to purchase her next collection.

Why you should read it:

  • If you like modern short stories and don’t mind cliffhangers
  • If you don’t mind being struck by a gush of beautiful, sad emotions
  • If, like me, you’re attracted to intriguing story titles

Why you shouldn’t read it:

  • If you’re looking for a light and easy read
  • If you prefer stories that end neatly and don’t want the story to end just when your breath is stuck in your throat
