Tags

, , , ,

Spill Simmer Falter Wither

“…but better to be content with ignorance, I’ve always thought, than haunted by the truth”

Spill Simmer Falter Wither ~ Sara Baume

Ray is old and Ray is lonely. Suffering from borderline Autism (according to my reading), he decides to get himself a dog. This dog is One Eye, a small curious little fella mutilated by a badger which led to him having lost an eye. One Eye is Ray’s only companion now and together they slowly change each other’s lives. The story about a recluse and a rescued dog.

Let me start by saying that I get it. I get why its won the hearts of so many, in fact it had me there for about the first two thousand words as well. This however had to do more with the fact that I recently adopted a dog who was abandoned by her owners and I related with Ray, his every observation about a growing attachment. That and Sara Baume’s use of language were what kept me going to the very end of the novel. Those two things and nothing else. That is not to say that I don’t greatly admire novels written without tense action, I wasn’t expecting any – what I was expecting however was more of an emotional response. There was so much of it in the opening of the novel, but there was too much of it as the book progressed. It is indeed a shame to feel this way about a book that has been clearly written from strenuous self exploration and wonderment, beautiful poetic thought and most importantly when it is about a dog. Nonetheless, it felt like a short story that was unnecessarily stretched to the length of a novel.

Reader: I love dogs. I am going to dig the hell out of this book

Sara Baume immerses you into precious moments of joy, of finding friendship in a dog

Reader: I seriously cannot get over the description of flowers. I must Google these names

Sara Baume slowly describes each painful turn of Ray’s head and his dog’s bark

Reader: Those are gorgeous words! Ok, now what?

Sara Baume continues to detail out every passing thought

Reader: Please tell me this is going somewhere

Why you should read it

  • If you need another reason to love your dog
  • If you like to savour words and lines and roll them around in your mouth

Why you shouldn’t read it

  • If you’re looking for a breeze of a read
  • If you’re expecting a complicated and tense plot
