Tags

, , , , ,

Hyperbole and a Half

“I’ve always wanted to not give a fuck”

Hyperbole and a Half ~ Allie Brosh

So when Allie Brosh decided to take bits of her blog and turn it into a book, I just put down everything I was doing and wrote her a one-line text asking her for a complimentary copy…NO, none of that happened because I didn’t know she existed. Clearly I wasn’t hanging out where all the cool kids were. I don’t quite remember how I came across this book but I’m sometimes glad that I waste countless what-could-be productive hours on the interwebs because I just happened to stumble upon this absolute riot. Hyperbole and a Half is a short book of drawings accompanied by real-life events and thoughts of award winning blog writer Allie Brosh. Who by the way was also the creator of this meme, which essentially is a self portrait –

Hyperbole & a Half

Truly, I am grateful for this personal success story of the internet because otherwise I might have never known that there are other people who avoid DVD Rentals ever since they procrastinated returning a DVD several months ago and eventually never did. I’m not alone. Great success. From explaining her relationship with her dogs and reflecting on her struggle with depression, there is never a dull moment on a single page; all told through a series of laugh out loud moments.

Beyond all the cake eating and the instances when you’ll point at the text going “this happens to me all the time!”, there are some fundamentals of human personality discussed which can only be confidently written about after hours of deep self exploration. All of this covered in a span of one evening’s worth of reading.

Why you should read it:

  • If you love dogs and have no idea why
  • Just because you aren’t a lover of door-stopper sized literature on profound thought, doesn’t mean you don’t like being entertained by the written word
  • If you already love her blog and want to own some of it for yourself for a rainy day

Why you shouldn’t read it:

  • If you don’t like to laugh. Yes, I’m being cheeky
